Did you know you were having a stroke?

Dboudrea24

Stroke Survivors,

I'm a research resident at Stanford and I'm trying to understand how people who suffer a stroke recognize their symptoms and then decide to take action. My ultimate hope is that i can help the 70% of stroke victims who delay seeking urgent medical attention. I appreciate any comments you have and look forward to reading your insights.

Here are some questions I think can help me understand the thought process that occurs from symptom onset to taking action. Please feel free to answer any one or all of these questions below.

1. How did you recognize that you might be having a stroke or that something wasn't normal?

2. Did you make excuses for the symptom? For example, it must be my arthritis acting up or I must have slept on my arm funny.

3. Did you think it would go away?

4. In retrospect, if you knew more about stroke symptoms, would you have been able to recognize your first symptom?

5. Were you afraid to activate 911? If so, why?

6. If there was a way to measure your symptom, would it help you feel more confident in calling 911?

7. Is there anything you wish would have been available to help you when you were first having the stroke?

This information will be kept for my own personal information and your identity will not be revealed in any way. If you would like to go in more depth through a telephone interview, please provide a number I can reach you at and what time of day works best for you. Please include your time zone. Thank you for your time.

Sincerely,

David