I WISH THIS WAS ME [video]

Dr. Drew's Lifechangers had a show about stroke last week. There was a woman who had a stroke when she was 21 and the actor from Hercules talked about how he had strokes and promoted his book. Watch this part of the show

I don't know how she got on the show but I really wish I could get the bioness too. I talked to my Vocational Rehabilitation counselor and she is having a hard time proving to the state that I could really benefit from having the bioness. My physical therapists sent a report that I am stable and quit therapy (I had to go back to work and I reached all of my PT goals), my doctor sent a report that this is pretty much the way I am going to be and there is no proof the bioness will work, and all my counselor can see is that I graduated college and work every year. All these factors make it very hard to prove that I don't need this device for work and school.

It is very annoying and frustrating because everyone is acting like I am just fine and the bioness is just an expensive toy I want to play with. For those of you who read my blog "Working HARD" you see just how much I go through. Getting through school and working jobs is not EASY. I guess I got to stop doing such a great job at making everything look easy just to get my voc rehab counselor, doctor, and therapists to see that I really need help. The worst feeling is days like yesterday when my good arm felt sore and ached all day. There was nothing I could do accept keep using it. Not a day goes by that I don't wish I had the bioness. Maybe I should write Dr. Drew

Oiy... it's really frustrating when people have that attitude. "Oh, you're doing fine!" ... yeah, on -good- days, which isn't 365 of them in a row!

Or even if they have some sympathy, it's still "well, you've learned to adjust and cope". Sure, but that doesn't mean it's easy. Having stuff to help out is much better than just doing everything yourself.

**huggle-pat** I know just how you feel!

Katrina: