•  

Correct forum?

Before you post, please ask yourself this question, "Is this the correct forum"?  Please read the forum description before posting. 

Sephardicina

Husbaand had Stroke 22 months ago

29 posts in this topic

My husband had a stroke 22 months ago in the doctor's office where we were for a birthday party that they have for their patients each month. Since it was not an "office hours day" the doctor who was there did not know us but as a retired registered nurse I took one look at him and knew he was having a stroke. The doctor took his blood pressure which was sky high and told me to take him home and bring him back after the weekend to have his pressure checked again. We left the office and instead of going home I drove directly to the hospital emergency room. He was taken directly inside after I told them what was happening and it took almost ten hours but his heart rate was brought back to normal. He was in the hospital for four days and in rehab for three weeks. He had home physical and occupational therapy for a month and then because of the health insurance plan we ended up being sent to a place for physical and occupational therapy that was awful and nine months time was wasted. The only good thing about it was it was five minutes from our home.