•  

Correct forum?

Before you post, please ask yourself this question, "Is this the correct forum"?  Please read the forum description before posting. 

JLB411

Newbie here...

Just wanted to say hi and introduce myself. I am a 33 year old female that suffered a small 2mm ischemic stroke on July 3, 2017. At first they thought it was just a TIA and few days and tests later found out it was an actual stroke due to a high grade stenosis in my mid cerebral artery on my right side. Having health anxiety before this happened I obviously am aware of all little body sensations so of course I am driving myself nuts thinking everything like after affect is another stroke. My neurologist told me that the tingling in fingers, feet, legs, etc are going to be there, the dizziness is something that usually happens too... It sucks just now knowing this is my life. I know there are people that have it way worse then I did and that I should be thankful but I am still so down and depressed that I have to worry about this and can't just allow myself to get past it and enjoy life with my 18 month old daughter. Anyways sorry for the extra vent but wanted to introduce myself and say thanks for the approval :)

Hi, knowing others have it worse than you does not help you feel better about your situation. Just remember none of us (including you) asked for this, crap happens and you have to deal with it.  Anxiety and fear of another event are pretty normal after a stroke, try not to dwell on it. If you had anxiety before your stroke hopefully you already have a psychiatrist/psychologist you trust that can work on this with you. Remember you've had a brain injury so lots of things and how you react to them can be changed by that as well as physical stuff.