•  

scottm

Back in a class

I set myself a challenge to take the advanced navigation class I hadn't had a chance to take before the stroke. I'm on my 3rd week and struggling but moving fprward. It's all based on basic math, no trig or advanced math but I'm having the hardest time framing the problem before I start solving it. 90 - 22 turns into 5 minutes of refreshing myself what the numbers mean and how to apply the -. Then I can start.

It's hard to explain to someone how hard it is...well also knowing I used to do some pretty advanced calculations. I was just working a time distance dead reckoning plot and I came away feeling like an idiot, it is a trivial problem. I think I need a dunce cap.

I can relate to what kind of math problems you must be facing, Scott.  I was an aerospace engineer and probably have had to face a gazillion types of math problems while I was in school.  One thing I learned early on is solving for most math problems follow a similar format. . . first, identify all your variables then, solve for what is unknown.   I'm sure you already knew that!  Good luck in your class!  

(Did you know a gazillion is actually a number?  It means a lot!) 

Instead of a dunce cap,how about a :bravo:round of applause for stepping out of your comfort zone, and meeting your challenges head-on?