•  

Boyfriend has had many small strokes, he's now disabled, unable to work or drive or do most things without being reminded.  He's living in my home, has no family so I'm his only help.  I work full time so it's hard to deal with him. I watch him on home cameras to make sure he's ok when I'm gone.  He's getting physical now instead of just *beep* off at me all the time. He's VERY angry and difficult. Yes, he's on meds... antidepressants, Seroquel. ...  I need to start figuring out what to do with him.  I made the decision that the next time he has to go to the hospital I will not bring him home. Can I do that, we have no ties, he has nothing or anyone else.  All he gets is a disability check every month.  Any advise or suggestions I would really appreciate it.

I've been caring for my stroke hubby since 2012.   He alone has made this a possibility.   He is helpful, courteous, patient and understands he has to wait on my sometimes, to get to what he wants.    This is the magic key.   I could not deal with an angry person, and you will find that anger will be aimed at you, like he resents you for being ok, while he had a stroke.   I can't tell you what to do, nor how to do it, I just wish sick people all understood that the key to keeping their caregiver is to treat them like the gold they are.   I hope you have spoken to his doctor about this, he needs counseling, and since you are not even married, I'm not sure you are part of his ongoing equation... only you know that.    But I can tell you that I've been married to mine since 1971, and if he were an angry person, I could not stand up under the work and a bad temperament too.   You need to get the message across to him that you can't do this if he is not into improving.    Our lives are not what we imagined they would be now, but we have seen that they still have value, and our joy was not limited to the things we lost, but to what we have everyday.