Countdown To Christmas!

•  

PaulNash

How to keep the relationship alive

Since my stroke three years ago, I have been withdrawn, with a flat affect, and often have conversations inside my head -- somehow the words don't make it out of my mouth.  My wife has been hugely supportive, but is getting worn thin and gets increasingly upset and agitated.  Our financial plans are in tatters -- I am able enough that I get a (small) partial disability payment, but am finding it harder and harder to find work (I'm a freelance network engineer).

I am very aware of dragging her down, and making her miserable.  I try to open up, chat, be positive but often can't get words to come out of my mouth.  I also feel depressed and responsible -- I should be able to bring in a decent income somehow, I'm just not trying hard enough.  And from time to time I feel that everyone's lives would have been better if the stroke had been fatal -- the insurance company can't really argue that a corpse can still earn a living, my wife and children would have got over the grief by now, and I would not be faced with having my disabilities shoved in my face day-to-day.

I know that most stroke survivors are probably worse off than me, and that I should feel grateful rather than resentful that I lived.  I know that many stroke survivors have been abandoned by their spouses, and that I should be grateful that mine has stuck by me (and continues to stick by me, regardless of how frustrated she gets).  No, I am not going to kill myself; I would never inflict that on my family.