•  

MJS1963

Greetings from a New Member

Hello good people,

My name is Mike, my pleasure to meet you.

Here is my story.

On November 16th of this year, 2018 I suffered a stroke. I noticed something was off with my right hand as I kept missing the gear shift in the truck I was driving. Missing meaning I would grab for the knob and miss it. I have been driving this vehicle for 5 years and know where it is with my eyes closed. My hand also felt funny, not numb but not normal. Now, I have had problems with my neck for years and assumed it was related to that. After finishing my shift, I realized something was wrong as I could not unbutton my shirt.

I went to the ER right then. After 2 CT scans and an MRI, it was determined I had a stroke. That had to be the most difficult thing I have ever had to hear. I was admitted, and thought my life was over at that point. The stroke was an Ischemic Embolic Stroke of the Left Cerebral Artery. One tiny little clot.  Again, in my mind, I was never leaving the hospital

Now, the good news.

I was admitted at 630 AM on Friday the 16th. I was released Sunday Morning at 11 AM. I suffered no lasting issues. The weakness in my right had that was there on admission, is gone. Occupational therapy saw me on that sunday morning, and my hand strength and coordination fell in the 90th percentile range. I suffer from no leg, foot, or balance issues. No cognitive issues, no positioning issues or shaking, numbness or pain or tingling in my right extremities. As of right now, it is as if none of it ever happened. My doctor said I missed a very big bullet.

I have since then, changed my habits of diet and physical activity. I did smoke. Quit. Never drank much, but quit that too. My diet has gone from quick foods to organic as possible, and very close to a vegan diet as I can get. I like chicken, so that has to stay.