mum2two

Hello everyone, I’m new to this site.

Hi I’m Ann and I had a lacuna infarct in February 2018.

It’s been a difficult year adjusting to how I am now and I’ve found it extremely frustrating. I have short term memory loss as a result of the stoke although I do feel I am slowly improving, well on some days I do and on other days I find it terribly frustrating. I’d be interested to hear others stroke journeys  especially if you have similar symptoms to me.

Hello Ann, and welcome.

There are definitely people here with memory issues. You are not alone.

Looking forward to sharing the journey with you.

My memory has slowly improved over the last few years, I do still get the effect of sometimes the 3rd time I watch a movie is the first. LOL

Hi Anne, Glad to see you here. Told you it would be OK!

Memory loss not one of my problems but how can I tell? I am now in my fourth year and have overcome many handicaps. Now my biggest problem is speech. This is making me avoid phone conversations.

Deigh

Hi Anne, and welcome.  I also have major memory issues.  After 3 years they have improved a bit (not much); I have developed a pile of coping strategies, like carrying  notebook with me (and trying to remember to look in it :-)), asking people to remind me later (or to send me an email reminder).  I use my phone's "reminders" a lot.

One of the biggest changes, though, has been as family and friends get used to the memory issues and stop getting upset or offended.

Frustration is the name of the game.  I try to remind myself (and my family, at times) that the effects of the stroke do not impact my worth as a human, that I did not have the stroke on purpose, that the deficits are not my fault, and that any improvement IS due to my hard work.  The shift in mindset has taken a long time, and has in many ways been more worthwhile than the cognitive improvements, although both are important.