Hello everyone my name is Jon I had  a right side ischemic stroke on 8-1-2018 at 33 I'm now 35 I have been working  very hard on what I call my comeback. I have been walking with no aid for about 4 months now. I try to walk around my block 3 times which equals 1 mile a day my gait is not perfected yet but it's getting closer and closer. I also got my drivers license back  in January and luckily I'm able to work  for my dads construction company.  Working in the office.. not sure what else to say.    I hope to be able to contribute to this great community you have here and learn alot as well. 

Hi, Jon. Welcome to Strokenet! `Sounds like you've made a great recovery so far, and it sounds like you have a lot to share. We have chats, blogs, and here, the Forums whenever you want to share, whatever you want to share.Becky

Nice to meet you Jon, sounds like you are doing well. Good luck on the gait I'm still working on that 10 years post. The main thing is don't give up. I hope you have a PT who is helping you with feedback and exercises to do as well as building stamina with daily walking.

-Heather

Working with a pt is on hold right now as my favorite PT is on maternity leave and  this pandemic has thrown a wrench in  the process of working with another pt for now but I do have excercises  to do and I am seeing progress. I will never give up... it is hard to deal with the pace of  the  recovery being so slow and people around me not understanding how slow the recovery  process is but I am making progress  and I'm confident I will reach my goals.  I've always been a very driven person.  It took a while, but I finally learned to set more realistic goals and   to stop putting a timetable or deadline on reaching certain goals because its discouraging if  I dont hit my goal "on time." 

Hey Jono!!

One thing we have all learnt, as that is realistic goal setting. 

Looking forward to sharing the journey, young fella.