Ever since my husband had his stroke (May 28, 2004) he has had a chronic problem with hiccups. Sometimes he will have a brief period where they go away but then they return. It interferes with his sleep. Is there any known remedy for stroke victims available? Thanks in advance.

Hi Netsurfer,

Sorry about your husbands stroke. My Dad had/has hiccups too, but no where near as severe as it sounds like your husbands are.

I found a response on another message board advocating canned peaches of all things. I have no personal experience with this, but the woman's story sounds similar to yours and the suggestion came from a nurse. You can check it out yourself at:

see http://www.heatherhill.org/forum4/messages/574.html

On another site I found some more medical sounding treatments such as "One of several medications may be used in cases of prolonged hiccups. These include scopolamine, prochlorperazine, chlorpromazine, baclofen, metoclopramide, and valproate."

See http://health.discovery.com/encyclopedias/955.html

If you just type stroke and hiccups into Google you'll find all sorts of useful info.

(http://www.google.com)

Hope this helps....Larry

Guest Melissa

My father experienced hiccups early on after his stroke too. The doctors said they were neurological and that there wasn't anything we could do for them. The good news is that they subsided and he rarely gets them now. If he does, it's a couple at a time. I hope these subside for your husband soon!

I too had bad hiccups after my stroke. :angry:

I was told by my docs that it is a symptom found only in women. They said that men didn't have this as a symptom. I find it very interesting that you have proven what they told me to be WRONG. It just goes to show once again that docs. don't know everything. ;)

My hiccups subsided about a week and a half after my stroke. I still get them every once in a while and I admit that it terrifies me to get them. I may try eating peaches the next time and see if it helps.