Grieving Process and Depression...

Guest jwhetstone

Hi to all,

As some of you know I lost my husband to a 2nd stroke on June 5th. I know the grieving process is long and hard and different for everyone...Helen Kuebler Ross...I studied in nursing school. I am vascilating between disbelief and grief. I want to cry and scream....I want to tear something up, but I can't. I don't know if it's the nurse in me "controling" my emotions or what. I miss him terribly but I can't seem to cry...what is wrong with me? I need some feedback, please!! This is the first major death in my lifetime other than grandparents...I even grieved for other families of patients I took care of over the years, WHY can't I grieve now. I feel like a robot ....anyone who has been there...I need your help!! pJoy

Pjoy,

The only major loss I endured was my father. He died of cancer and i knew it was coming so I was somewhat prepared for it. The only unexpected hit I ever took was the stroke. I know it's not the same, but when you said you couldn't cry and didn't understand why that really struck a bell. i was devastated at having lost my career over night, etc. and knew i was deeply sad and depressed. I felt like I was crying inside all of the time but it just wouldn't come out and I couldn't understand why. I wanted to cry so badly for the release but the tears just wouldn't flow. I still don't understand it. I am so sorry for the pain you are in and wish I could do or say something to make it better. Please know that I and all of your friends here think of you often and will continue to be here for you now through this difficult time and as long as you need us.

Maria :friends:

Just remember we are here for you, hope you continue to conversate here as you find the time we care about all our members and remain your friends. :console:

Pjoy,

I just discovered you posted this topic twice. Someone will put all comments together I think.