I have been struggling more and more lately with the idea of providing something of value to the world around me.  Since my stroke a little over 5 years ago (at age 52), I’ve had to retire because the energy it takes to drag my low-functioning body through normal work events limits me to about 3 hours of activity, then I’m finished for the day.  I used to work as a musician (accompanying choirs and musicals, playing piano at parties, church music director, etc.), and since my stroke, I had a community choir (all 8 of us!) where I sang, played piano, and directed.  I loved it!  The best part was it was only 90 minutes of rehearsal each week, and our performances only happened 3 or 4 times a year.  By the time we set up and tore down, the performances took about 3 hours, but it was worth using up my whole day’s allotment of energy!  But then COVID...  Pretty much killed any choir (can’t sing or make loud noises next to anyone else), plus the church that gave us rehearsal space is closed.

All this to say I feel like I’m just taking up space, biding my time until I die (which, God willing, should be quite a while yet - I’m still in my 50’s!).  Not just because of COVID, though that’s not helping, but more like the way I seemed to be affecting the world around me when I was doing full-time music, working in the schools with the students and in the church, leading the choir and congregation musically and spiritually.  Now, I take satisfaction in my community choir (if COVID hasn’t completely ended us), but it could be ages before we even get to talk about regrouping (have to finish with face masks and social distancing - in liberal MInnesota - plus we mostly sing in nursing homes, which are also out of the question right now).