overwhelmed please help

Hello i am new here and looking for some support. I am a 23 year old mother of 4kids under 6 and a granddaughter to a stroke survivor that i have been helping my mother in law take care of for three years. In march my mother in law had a stroke (second one in the family in 3 years) and passed away. I have been taking care of grandma sence then. She has 4 children who cannot take care of her due to their own health reasons or work. I am overwhelmed with the demands of this. She has no use of the left side of her body and needs to be transfered to the commode, bed wheelchair anywhare. she is completly immobile. I have no support system. I can't even find anyone to watch the kids while I take grandma to the doctors or vise versa. She is on diasbiliuty due to previous heart trouble and doesn't qualify for medicaid so help from a professinal is not an option sence she has no money. I don't know how to convince her children and other grandchildren that i can't do this alone. I need help! All i ever get is i can't i'm sorry please i need advice

Hi and Welcome to the site. So sorry to hear of what you're experiencing and that you have no assistance. Have you contacted Dept of Health and Senior Services in MO - http://www.dhss.mo.gov/AAA/index.html

It is admirable what you are doing for her, but not fair to you or your own family. You may need to call a family meeting to discuss all the options available.

If you cannot get family to assist you, the only option might be to have her placed in a nursing home if family will not help. You mention she does not qualify for medicaid - does she have medicare?