Confessed my son had several brainstem strokes in a car accident

Hello my my is Vicki,

I'm new to this message board. My son was in an accident 24 days ago. He suffered a few strokes in his brain stem that caused more brain damage. He was in a coma for 16 days. He woke up last friday and started to breath over the vent. The Nero- surgene told us us that he wouldn't get any better and that we should turn off the vent and save him from any more suffering. I don't want to let him go, but I don't want him to hate me for holding on to him if he can't get any better. This past week he started moving his eyes more I don't know if he can see me, but when the nurses come into the room to work on his IV's he'll shift his eyes to them and then back to me. I've been exercising his body for him, but he only moves when I tickel him. The doctors told me that it was only reflexes. Please if you have been through this or have a loved one your caring for and can help me through this I would be very thankful.

Worried Sick

Guest veggie.vampire

Hi, welcome, I had a massive brain stem stroke about 18 months ago. Doctors truely expected me to die and said if I lived I wouldn't get any better - I needed a trachy to breathe, was tube fed, on oxygen, could make no sound and could only blink. When life support went off it was an experiment, thank goodness I passed and carried on breathing. Well my doctors were wrong. I'm typing this with my left hand which now has a normal range. Soon I'm expected to stand independently, I already can with help. Can't say it's been easy but I am improving. No way would I have wanted anyone to give up on me. Your son really could surprise you yet, I did nothing but blink for 2 months. Good luck. Please bear in mind all strokes are different so no guarantees but definite hope. Feel free to pm for any support you need.

Guest lwisman

Hi Vicki,